Friday, April 12, 2013

Loose Boxers

Just a short update.  Still really struggling w/ my asthma.  Still on Prednisone.  Still not able to move without becoming short of breath.  I've been getting really discouraged because nothing was moving; I feel horrible.  Well, today, my boxers are loose and I realize I have been goning through diuresis (getting rid of water weight).  My body always holds on to more water when I start loosing weight.  Now, given that I wasn't trying to loose weight, I am shocked. 

The difference....well, could be my blood sugars are high on the Prednisone.  Could be I'm not snacking at work as much.  Could be that Kat and I are happy, looking to buy a house, and all seems right in my world.  Whatever the reason is, I am happy to see it.  Knowing that my body is working the way it should is a good thing.

Monday, April 1, 2013

Stumped

I am stumped.  I am finally off the Prednisone!  The weather changed suddenly last night, and again, I can't breath well today.  It is better tonight; the weather is supposed to be stable for a few days.  But this isn't what is stumping me.

I can't seem to find away to undo feelings about food.  There are some feelings that kick me in the gut.  I like fresh fruits, mostly prefer berries.  Apples, bananas, and the occasional orange.  Not a mango fan.  When it comes to thinking about eating fresh veggies...I almost get nauseated.  I love salads, but can only handle them at work for a short time before I feel I can't eat them.  Taking sliced veggies, again only lasts a little while.  I love fresh veggies cooked; asparagus, carrots, peas, lima beans.

How do I get over my gut reaction to eating fresh, raw veggies?  I'm not sure.  Even with using dressings that I like, eating them at work or as a snack at home isn't working.  I am realizing that I am making many excuses about why I can't do the veggies at work.  Pre-cooked then microwaved doesn't taste good.  All these barriers in reaction to my nauseated gut that says, yuck I don't like that.

Funny thing is, I like the veggies.  I like eating them.  Just not sure why after a certain period of time my body says, yuck.

Now at home, Kat can make salad every night and I'm good.  In fact I love it!  But I won't make a snack or take it to work as a snack.  The kids, if I cut up the veggies for them, they will eat it.  Even Kat likes to have veggies as snack.  I make snack bags for everyone and they disappear quickly, but not because I am eating them.

I wonder, what I remember as a child was eating canned veggies.  Fresh veggies were in salads.  Canned veggies were hot.  As I got older, my family switched more to frozen veggies.  To me veggies are supposed to be hot.  That is what I grew up with.  Spinach, creamed corn, green beans all were staples on our table at home.

Any ideas would be helpful.  I am having difficulty solving this puzzle.  I'm sure there is a way to work with things, but I am too close; I am blinded by the trees :)