I am stumped. I am finally off the Prednisone! The weather changed suddenly last night, and again, I can't breath well today. It is better tonight; the weather is supposed to be stable for a few days. But this isn't what is stumping me.
I can't seem to find away to undo feelings about food. There are some feelings that kick me in the gut. I like fresh fruits, mostly prefer berries. Apples, bananas, and the occasional orange. Not a mango fan. When it comes to thinking about eating fresh veggies...I almost get nauseated. I love salads, but can only handle them at work for a short time before I feel I can't eat them. Taking sliced veggies, again only lasts a little while. I love fresh veggies cooked; asparagus, carrots, peas, lima beans.
How do I get over my gut reaction to eating fresh, raw veggies? I'm not sure. Even with using dressings that I like, eating them at work or as a snack at home isn't working. I am realizing that I am making many excuses about why I can't do the veggies at work. Pre-cooked then microwaved doesn't taste good. All these barriers in reaction to my nauseated gut that says, yuck I don't like that.
Funny thing is, I like the veggies. I like eating them. Just not sure why after a certain period of time my body says, yuck.
Now at home, Kat can make salad every night and I'm good. In fact I love it! But I won't make a snack or take it to work as a snack. The kids, if I cut up the veggies for them, they will eat it. Even Kat likes to have veggies as snack. I make snack bags for everyone and they disappear quickly, but not because I am eating them.
I wonder, what I remember as a child was eating canned veggies. Fresh veggies were in salads. Canned veggies were hot. As I got older, my family switched more to frozen veggies. To me veggies are supposed to be hot. That is what I grew up with. Spinach, creamed corn, green beans all were staples on our table at home.
Any ideas would be helpful. I am having difficulty solving this puzzle. I'm sure there is a way to work with things, but I am too close; I am blinded by the trees :)
No comments:
Post a Comment