Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Feels like a Tuesday...

Tired today.  Back to not sleeping well at night.  I am still in a positive and good mood :)  Went to the gym at work and did some weights.  It felt good.  Tried not to overdue...reminding myself that I am not superwoman.  I am still motivated and hoping to keep things going. 

As summer continues here in the Pacific NW, the heat does make it hard for me to keep going.  We have don't have air conditioning, so when I get home all I want to do is sit and not move.  It is unusual for us to have temps in the 90's in September.  This time of year we are in the 70's.  Also, we rarely have several days of hot weather in a row, we are  on week 2 of hot, summer weather.   Given that I am a Portlander through and through, I'm not acclimated to this weather.  I am not complaining, it is nice, but it does make it difficult to get my butt going.

That being said.  I am happy that I was able to do some weights.  I am going to take it easy on my cardio, my knee is still messed up from the jogging/walking.  Have to be ready for the Race for the Cure on September 18th; on Doty's Dream: A Cure team :) 

As for watching my intake, I did well.  Dinner was at the Old Spaghetti Factory, a rare treat for the family.  I ordered my favorite dinner, spinach tortellini with Alfredo sauce.  I have read in several places, to leave some food on your plate.  I was able to leave 4 tortellini.  For me, this was huge!  It felt good to begin to take control of my food.

In the words of Stuart Smalley, "I'm good enough. I'm smart enough. And doggone it, people like me."

No comments:

Post a Comment