Update:
Weight 253.6 lbs
Net Cal: + 117 cal
Walked the dogs 10 min x2
So our downstairs neighbor, Jon, called the other day saying he had made chocolate chip pecan bars for a party that fell through and asked if we would like some. We of course said yes. So here comes Jon with a plate full of yummy treats.
Now usually I am not much of a pecan person, but unfortunately for me, Jon put them on this very butter rich shortbread type cookie and covered them in brown sugar and chocolate chips...to die for. So here I am faced with these yummy treats and of course have to eat them. Now while I did not inhale the whole plate of treats like I could have 9 months ago, I did find myself going to the fridge and getting one at a time over the last 2 days. The kids didn't like theirs, so I had to eat them right?
This is one of my down falls...if there is a sweet in the house like cookies, pie, cake, and some types of candy I will make up reasons to go to the kitchen and always get one on my way by. Now, we can have these in the house, Kat can put them away and I usually won't go looking for them unless they are Oreos. The pecan bars were in the fridge, so everytime I got a water, dinner, veggies, milk, ect...I grabbed a bar.
So yesterday, I had 2.5 in the morning...the girls didn't like theirs so I finished them and then another couple last night. Looking at the fact that I ate 117 calories more than I needed to maintain my weight yesterday, I think 5 bars may have been too much...yeah, duh right! Yet there is that pull, it tastes good. I haven't been depriving myself of sweets. In fact my drop in my A1C is with a bowl of ice cream ever night; therefore my binging is not related to depriving myself of sweets. So where does it come from?
Interestingly, Kat and I are polar opposites in this area. When we have a "treat" in the house, I gorge until its gone. I do this by going back to the area of the treat and taking 1 or 2 with each pass. Kat on the other hand can have just one or a small portion and she is satisfied for several days. We actually have a problem because she will get only 1 or 2 of something and then it will be gone because I finish it. She actually gets quite irritated with me. I assumed since it had been sitting there for 4 days that she wasn't going to eat the treat, but she just wasn't "ready" to eat it. I'm not sure we have actually worked this out yet, but I do know that Kat has learned to hide her share and if she wishes to share it with me, she will offer.
I'm sure if my sister is reading this it will sound familiar. My Mother exhibits the same behavior. So the first question is, is this behavior learned? I'm sure that there is some learned behavior, but my guess is I not only learned the behavior, but probably learned that the behavior is used to cope with a feeling, or some trigger. As of this time, I do not know what triggers it. I also don't understand why it is only certain treats and if they are left out rather than hidden.
You say out of sight out of mind...but that isn't true. I know where the M&Ms are and I can access them at any time. It is something about being able to walk through the dinning room or kitchen and picking up the treat on the way...kind of a drive by snacking. You could say it was a drive by snacking by a fruit :)
Ok, I digress with a very bad play off of Mrs. Doubtfire. So my mission, should I choose to accept it, is to delve further into this behavior to understand it. With understanding comes empowerment and the ability to choose my path.
Successes: Did not eat the last chocolate chip pecan bars
Barriers: Extreme fatigue, not sleeping
No comments:
Post a Comment